A Slut

Comes when the evening, I put on a dress and makeup
Which will enhance my physical and of course, facial features.
Dolled up, I leave my house – all set to begin,
But not before applying on my lips, my lipstick pink.

Seeing me, he comes up and says, “Wanna come?”
Taking his hand, I coyly reply, “Sure, love.”
He undresses me, his hands all over me and his mouth is near my ear,
His fingers brushing against my lips, he whispers to me, “I like red more, dear.”
After a lot of grunts and moans, thrusts and bites,
It’s done; we dress up, and he pays its price.
At least he was gentler than the previous one: I wonder
And grabbing my purse, I leave after a quick touch-up.

On the road, I feel many eyes filled with despise, scorn, and lust on me
Faking nonchalance, I continue walking with grace and perfect ease.
While I wait for another one, I look at the passers-by
I see men, women, kids – walking, or going for a drive.
I can’t help envy the women, feeling how blessed they are in life
They’re all I crave to be – someone’s friend, mother… and wife.

This man comes to me and disrupts my train of thought as he takes my hand,
Later, feeling satisfied with me – he leaves after paying some extra cash.

Alone again, my thoughts stray, I wish upon a wishing star- something even people like meΒ are allowed to:
I wish for the acceptance I’ve always wanted, and for respect ’cause I’m tired of being misunderstood.
I wish for a man who’ll hold, cherish and love me forever – but I know I’m just pushing my luck
After all, for today and for all days to come, in your eyes I’m always gonna be a slut.

Story: I wrote this poem after learning about the sufferings of prostitutes. Regardless of whether they enter this profession willingly or unwillingly, they don’t deserve to be treated the way the society treats them.
9 thoughts on “A Slut

  1. This is really good.
    Did you deliberately write the first 1.5 stanza in a way that it could be easily assumed to be the story of any girl? Because that was brilliant!
    Keep up the good work. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

